The Hays Arts Council CREATIVE WRITING Award Ceremony & Reception was held Sunday, April 29 in the FHSU Memorial Union Ballroom.  Morgan Chalfant & Eric Lueschner, representing the Fort Hays State University English Department, and John Sjoholm, representing the Hays Optimist Club, assisted the awards presentation.

The HAC's longest running annual program has been a recognition and celebration of young writers in poetry & prose. Each year, the HAC invites writing submissions from students in Kindergarten through 12th grade, working through the public & private schools in Ellis County - but also accepting independant submissions from those whose teachers or schools don't participate. The FHSU English Dept. then generously serves as the judges (Brett Weaver served as judges chair this year) for the hundreds & hundreds of works submitted (all anonymously coded). Then, through the underwriting support of the Hays OPTIMIST CLUB, publications of all the winning works are printed, award ribbons are purchased, and a wonderful awards ceremony & reception are held at FHSU. Thank you to the teachers & schools who support & encourage their talented young writers and this special project. Because of you, nearly 90 young literary artists were publicly recognized this year!

 2019 creative writing awards ceremony & reception photo gallery

click on images to enlarge

creative writing contest